top of page

Upcoming Events

This semester is shaping up to be an exciting and busy one. Besides my regular full load of classes, I have been invited to host a book discussion of Pulitzer finalist, Margaret Verble's When Two Feathers Fell From The Sky

with Daniel Boone Regional Library at Barnes and Noble in Columbia; a craft talk with another writer at Missouri River Regional Library; an invited writer at this year's Louisiana Book Festival where I'll be on a "Grit Lit" panel with Kent Wascom, Frank Bill, Eli Cranor, and Meagan Lucas. If you haven't read these authors before you should look them up and check them out! I'll also be doing a reading from my latest novel, Roads! This novel has garnered some praise from Ron Rash, Jon Boilard, Kirkus Reviews, Columbia Tribune, and others

I also have a paid (let me emphasize paid!) craft talk, reading, and dinner at my alma mater, Central Methodist University. I look forward to sharing my experiences and expertise with my students at Lincoln University of Missouri in my honors memoir writing workshop this semester.



Daren Dean is the author of Far Beyond the Pale, I'll Still Be Here Long After You're Gone: Stories, The Black Harvest: A Novel of the American Civil War, and This Vale of Tears. His latest novel ROADS is forthcoming in 2023. He earned his MFA from the University of North Carolina at Wilmington. His work has been featured in Bloom, Bull, The Chattahoochee Review, The Columbia Tribune, Ecotone, Fiction Southeast, Flyover Country Literary Magazine, The Green Hills Literary Lantern, Huffpost, Kirkus Reviews, Louisiana Literature, Midwestern Gothic, Ploughshares, StorySouth, Yemassee, and many others. "Affliction" was a Finalist in the Glimmer Train Short Fiction Contest for New Writers. His short fiction has been nominated for the Pushcart Prize three times. The Black Harvest has been nominated for the Pen/Faulkner, the W. Y. Boyd Literary Award for Excellence in Military Fiction, Midlands Author Award, and shortlisted for the Missouri Authors Award. Currently, he is an Assistant Professor of English and Creative Writing at Lincoln University of Missouri where he received The Dean's Award for Excellence in Scholarship (2022).

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page